Symbols not found in Keyman character map

I’m brand new to using Keyman Developer. I’m trying to create a keyboard for mobile devices for my tribe’s language. There are two symbols that I can’t find on the character map ʰ and ̓ both of which are combined with consonants like this: pʰ or p̓. I am able to type these since a linguist has created a keyboard for pc.
I tried just entering these characters into the keyman developer and it won’t compile the keyboard. It comes up with this error:
o_tissi_keyboard.kmn: Warning: 2092 Key “T_new_255” on layer “default”, platform “phone”, is a custom key but has no corresponding rule in the source.

How can I get these symbols onto my keyboard?

You posted on a related community, but you will get the best help on the Keyman community. I swapped you to the best community.

Ian

1 Like
  1. Character map: when you get blank characters in the character map, right click on the character, go to fonts and pick the right font for that character.

2. “Custom key with no corresponding rule in the source”: When you create a new key in a mobile keyboard layout, Keyman developer gives it a name like “T_new_255”, and expects you to put in a rule that says what will happen when that key is tapped.

If you want that key to always produce a certain character, you can replace the name of the key with something like “U_01B4”, meaning insert Unicode character 01B4.

For the details on this see this guide:
https://help.keyman.com/developer/13.0/guides/develop/touch-keyboard-tutorial/making-touch-keyboard

especially the section on “adding the output”.

Thanks for your help. After lots of searching I found the characters.
The problem I seem to be having is that I want to replace for example r with tʰ on the first layer, not with a long press popup. The unicode for ʰ is U+02B0. If I just put that in there in place of T_new_104 (the code it came up with) then would it produce tʰ or just ʰ?