Bloom Story + Dictionary for children

Hi,

I’m new to Bloom and we are exploring ways to develop a story book for children that will serve as the building block for a child-friendly dictionary.

1. Can we have a story book and text/picture dictionary in the same story ?

2. Is it possible to generate a cumulative dictionary in Bloom based on children’s stories developed using Bloom for a minority language ( roman characters ) ?

Thanks !
Ester

@e2025
Hi Ester,
I’m not sure exactly what you’re asking. Bloom allows you to combine many types of pages within one book, so you could certainly include a story along with a picture dictionary.

The picture dictionary pages are not presented by default in Bloom. To turn them on, go to Settings > Advanced Program Settings > Show Experimental Features.
Of course, you can create your own custom layouts using the Change Layout bottom at the top right of any page in Edit mode.

With regard to generating a cumulative dictionary, are you asking if that is something Bloom can do automatically? The answer to that is no.

Please let me know if I can clarify anything further.

But I think maybe the Leveled Reader or Decodable Reader tool automatically creates some sort of wordlist for you. Not sure if that would be helpful to you or not.

@e2025

Can we have a story book and text/picture dictionary in the same story ?

As Andrew wrote, yes.

Is it possible to generate a cumulative dictionary in Bloom based on children’s stories developed using Bloom for a minority language ( roman characters ) ?

This is an interesting idea. Can you please say more about how you envision it working?

Hi John,

The translator/ literacy dept wants one app for several stories and everytime a story is added, the new terms are added to the child friendly dictionary including the audio / images used for the word in the story