Aleph with Beth Hebrew: blank keycaps on app

I’ve recently started using the Aleph with Beth Hebrew keyboard (v1.0.5, keyman 16.0, Win10 x64). It is brilliant.

The on-screen keys seem to be working correctly in the Windows app, but several keycaps appear blank. For example, “A”, “:”.

If I bring up the same keyboard in KeymanWeb, all the keycaps seem to display correctly.

Many thanks in advance if anyone can point to a solution/workaround.

I think it’s because no font is distributed with that keyboard so it is dependent on whatever font is installed.
We do seem to have issues with Hebrew keyboards and fonts and may try to address those soon.
It’s great to hear that particular “experimental” keyboard is so useful!

Thanks for the quick response!

I’m actually a retired programmer. I was able to clone the source and compile locally. I changed the font from “Arial” to “Times New Roman” and the keycaps look nicer, but still have the same blanks. The keyboard layouts in Help also have the same blanks.

I might browse around a little more. Perhaps I can offer some positive contribution to the effort.

Thanks for your interest! If you can find a font that works well for you on your system, that is great!

For a general solution, we’re looking at creating a special font that has all the character combinations so that we’ll get the same rendering on all platforms. To date we’ve found that certain fonts or workarounds display differently on different operating systems, thus making a general solution difficult without a dedicated font.

(update 12/28/23 21:46)
Just for comparison, I installed “Galaxie Hebrew (Mnemonic)” alongside. The layout seems a little less complete and convenient, but it displays everything as I expect. Diacritics are shown relative to dashed circles. In the sources: the .kvks file for Galaxie refers to font “Ezra SIL”. (As far as I can tell, this controls the keycaps.)