Tangsa Lakhum mobile installation problems

I’m fairly new to Keyman Developer, using that on Windows 10.

I built a layout for the language Tangsa the Lakhum script, which is new in Unicode 14 . The script is in the Supplementary Multilingual Plane (SMP). The KeyMan project contains a Unicode font for the writing system.

The desktop layout works just fine for Mac and Windows. However, there are problems installing a touchscreen version on Android.

Trying the touchscreen version using my phone (Android) in the test mode (via 192.168..) works great. It shows the keyboard with the expected characters in the Tangsa Lakhum script. The long press characters work, and the keycaps show the characters as expected.

However, installing this on my Android by loading the .kmp file in the KeyMan app shows only the Latin keyboard A-Z. However, the characters created are the Tangsa Lakhum letters. And the long press options have also disappeared. Very curious and frustrating.

Two collaborators experience the same problems on their mobile devices!

I did get Tangsa Lakhum keyboard added to KeyMan’s repository a few weeks ago, with kind help and comments from reviewers. That version does not have the touchscreen layout. Could this be interacting with the KMP installation?

I will be happy to share screen shots of this behavior and also the .kmp.

Thanks for any ideas on solving this.

1 Like

Hi @CraigC :slight_smile:

Apart from making sure you recompiled the package after adding the touch layout, I am not sure off the top of my head what is going on. It seems unlikely that there would be interactions with the version that was added to the Keyman keyboards repo.

Could you share the source files and the .kmp as a zip (via private message on the forum)?

Unicode 14 has not been released yet. Maybe some library needs to be updated for Unicode 14. But that is just a guess.

I think I’ve shared a link to my source code. I am not allowed to add files to this site being a “new user”.