SIL OPEN FONT LICENSE for print publication

Hey there, I have a very basic question concerning the copyright information, which needs to be published when using a font, provided under the SIL OPEN FONT LICENSE.
Can someone tell me, what information I need to provide when I use this font in a printed publication? At the moment I name the font and the designer in the imprint of the publication. Is that enough? Or do I have to add any further information?

I would be very thankful, if you could help me. I am new in this and unfortunately could not find any concrete information about this.

Sakri

Hi Sara,

Thank you for your question.

You are not required to provide information about the author (or authors if they are more than one) of the font released under OFL that you are using in your printed publication.

We realize that this might be surprising as many EULAs in the wider type industry restrict the use of fonts in logos, online, in print or in 3D forms, and want users to pay for separate permissions for each of these differrent uses, but this is not the case for any fonts released under the OFL.

The OFL FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) entry 1.1.2 says:

Question: 1.1.2 Is any kind of acknowledgement required?
Answer: No. Font authors may appreciate being mentioned in your artwork’s acknowledgements alongside the name of the font, possibly with a link to their website, but that is not required.

So there’s no need to do it: Authors will probably appreciate being mentionned in your colophon or imprint but it is not a strict legal requirement.
If you are prepared to do it, it’s good form to mention the name of the font, the designer (possibly the foundry) with a link to their websites if applicable.