iOS keyboard package cannot be installed in the Keyman app (keyboard testable properly in phone browser)

Greetings! I’m new to Keyman Developer though I’ve been using some Keyman keyboards and have been creating my own keyboards with Ukelele for many years.

Recently I started a test project trying to make an iOS keyboard and the process was fairly smooth. I simply repeated my layout for the macOS previously made in Ukelele and rearranged a bit in the touch design for iPhone and everything looked great: I could test the layout on my phone browser; I could type properly and the Arabic based script connects properly; (additional) diacritics were fine; long-press keys worked fine. But, I cannot get it properly installed in the Keyman app.

Before I was able to test it in my phone browser, I actually tried the “install from file” option by transferring the .kmp file to my phone and the issue was already there. I initially suspected there might be something wrong with my package so I purchased a USB wifi adapter in order to put my virtual Windows on the same network with my phone to test the keyboard. But the issue remained the same.

According to the instructions, no matter how the package is loaded onto the phone (browser download or “install from file”), once I click in the file, the normal installation process should start. But I never saw it. I am sure I set the language code properly, but I cannot find if from the language list. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Keyman from my phone and the issue persists.