Error while creating new layer in touch layout GUI view

I am new to keyman and currently using Keyman Developer for Windows version 13.0.105.0

I am trying to design a custom keyboard for android, and I will be using the Keyman android library

In the Layer drop down menu I deleted numeric and shift,

km_forum_q_20200427
and I thought I could just make new custom layer names, but whenever I try making a new layer such as layer1 and press ok, the screen goes blank, and the mobile design GUI view only comes back once I click the code view tab at the bottom and click design view again. If I check the drop down menu again, I only see the default layer and no other layer is created. There are no error messages either. If I choose one of the built in layer names (numeric, shift) then it works.

Is this how it is supposed to work? Can I only make a few specified layers? Then what is the custom layer option?

Hi @mahaju, welcome to the community!

It sounds like something is not right in adding layers. You should be able to create custom layers. I can’t seem to reproduce the problem here, so if you could try the following:

1. In the touch layout editor, press F12 to open the Developer Console.
  2. Try adding the new custom layer again.
  3. In the Developer Console, you should see a Console tab. Click this and copy any red error messages you see there, and paste them into a response here :slight_smile:

hi thanks for the reply
This is what I see in console tab of the developer window (this console text appears after I press the code tab and then the Design tab, after the screen goes blank when trying to create a custom layer “layer1”

Each of these lines can be expanded by clicking on the triangle at the left. Here are the 4 messages and the expanded text from the first one:

https://pastebin.com/Hty98cu9