Correcting text formatting after import from Word

Despite all the new features added to every new release of RAB, I still find that the basic conversion of text and images from a Word document remains poor.

The supporting documentation (02-Building-Apps.pdf) gives almost no instructions on how to correctly prepare a Word document (1.1.1) but claims that “basic formatting will be preserved such as character styles (bold, italic, underline), numbered lists, bullet points, hyperlinks and simple tables.” In my experience this is not the case as often formatting appears quite differently.

For example, I have a document with text that mixes bold and italic sometimes within the same sentence. Often I find words or complete lines of text with the wrong formatting and sometimes text is even underlined which is never used in the document. The Viewer tab in RAB does not show the final formatting, only when I use View in Browser. I’m not a programmer but checking the HTML files things look very strange to me. For example a single line (2 sentences) which should just be all italic has multiple tags for italic:
<div class="p"><span class="it">Ahmed </span><span class="it">harjooni </span><span class="it">o nyawɗo. </span><span class="it">E mo</span><span class="it"> </span><span class="it">dow leeso</span><span class="it">. </span></div>

I’ve also given up including illustrations as they can appear in the wrong place or often a different picture appears in the same place.

If there are really no additional steps that are needed when creating a Word document then please can there be some way to edit/correct the format and layout inside RAB before building the app and without having to manually edit HTML files (which I presume will be overwritten anytime the book is Updated from Original Source).

You understand that the Word document is converted to SFM (the primary input source). So starting in a Word document is a compromise source.