Are SIL Fonts Really Free?

Hi~! I’m new to the SIL community and really glad to find such a wonderful community!!

I found some fonts under SIL and since it is my first time actually using them, I wanted to make sure that what I am doing is okay.

I am working for a POD (Print On Demand) company and we are providing pre-built/made templates with some graphical design including texts.

Would it be okay if we

• sell products with SIL fonts on them

• allow customers for using SIL fonts to design their products for personal use

• allow customers for using SIL fonts to design their products for sale

Thank you so much for reading. It is a little late, but hope you all enjoyed Christmas.

Happy New Year~!!

Yes, they are really free. The only thing you cannot do with them is sell them by themselves, but selling documents or software that uses them is OK.

The license details:
https://scripts.sil.org/cms/scripts/page.php?item_id=OFL_web

If you are making a profit on works that use these fonts, we would appreciate a donation, but this is not obligatory.

The donation page link:

There are other things one cannot do with SIL’s fonts, for example distributing modified versions of the fonts without changing the font name.

In addition to the license text that Steve mentioned, the FAQ is very useful and answers your specific questions. See:
https://scripts.sil.org/cms/scripts/page.php?item_id=OFL-FAQ_web

Note that home page for OFL can be reached using https://scripts.sil.org/OFL

Thanks, Bob for reminding us about the FAQ.

Just to be clear, when you said “selling documents or software that uses them,” it is okay for them to be used on physical products for sale. Is that correct?

Thank you all for your kind answers :slight_smile:

Happy new year~!

I think FAQ 1.1 addresses this.

Greetings, I have some related questions on what the OFL allows/prohibits that the FAQ comes close to answering, but leaves me uncertain. Perhaps these can lead to new FAQ questions: